Cognitive development

Cognitive development is a field of study in neuroscience and psychology focusing on a child’s development in terms of information processing, conceptual resources, perceptual skill, language learning, and other aspects of the developed adult brain and cognitive psychology. Piaget proposed four stages of cognitive development:. the sensori – motor, preoperational, concrete operational and formal operational period

Stages of Cognitive development

Stage Activities
Sensory-motor (Birth-2 yrs) Differentiates self from objects
Recognizes self as agent of action and begins to act intentionally: e.g. pulls a string to set mobile in motion or shakes a rattle to make a noise
Achieves object permanence: realizes that things continue to exist even when no longer present to the sense
(2-7 years)
Learns to use language and to represent objects by images and words
Thinking is still egocentric: has difficulty taking the viewpoint of others
Classifies objects by a single feature: e.g. groups together all the red blocks regardless of shape or all the square blocks regardless of color
Concrete operational
(7-11 years)
Can think logically about objects and events Achieves conservation of number (age 6), mass (age 7), and
weight (age 9)
Classifies objects according to several features and can order them in series along a single dimension such as size.
Formal operational
(11 years and up)
Can think logically about abstract propositions and test hypotheses systematically
Becomes concerned with the hypothetical, the future, and ideological problems


Like us on Facebook
No Thanks
Did you like it?
Share it on Facebook
No Thanks